Trondheim Symphony Orchestra in Nidaros Cathedral

Trondheim Symphony Orchestra takes its place in Nidaros Cathedral with a massively wonderful work by a composer with an unhealthy predilection for dead bodies.

Trondheim Symphony Orchestra takes its place in Nidaros Cathedral with a massively wonderful work by a composer with an unhealthy predilection for dead bodies.

Anton Brückner’s 9th symphony is the only work which he dedicated to God. The symphony is more sombre, more indecisive, yes even more liberatingly grotesque than anything else he composed, almost as if the forces of nature were unleashed.

This radiant work with conductor Han-Na Chang’s eruptive energy will offer a quite unique experience. Nidaros Cathedral will be shaken to its foundations!

We look forward to performing this work which Brückner dedicated to his God. Nidaros is a magnificent cathedral, perfect for this massive work, says Chang.

Watch as Chang enters Nidaros Cathedral for the first time:

Anton Brückner was an odd person with an unsound predilection for young girls and dead bodies. At the same time he was reticent, almost self-effacing, and deeply religious.

He was conservative and creative, he was consumed with doubt and at the same time strong in his belief, a complex individual who did not fit into any category – in other words, a man for St. Olav Festival, says director Petter Myhr.

Brückner’s unfinished 9th symphony is the only one which he explicitly dedicated to God. It is a formidable orchestral work, magnificent, paradoxical, gentle and violent, humble and flamboyant, tentative and decisive –as if the composer tortures himself in an attempt to convince both God and himself. This struggle and this music, performed by the illustrious Trondheim Symphony Orchestra under the baton of Han-Na Chang, will make the high vaults of Nidaros Cathedral vibrate on Friday 3. August during St. Olav Festival.

About the composer:

  • Born 4. September 1824 in Ansfelden, Oberösterreich, died 11. October 1896 in Vienna. Austrian composer and organist. In music history he is consider as belonging to the Romantic Era and is especially known for his symphonies, masses and motets. Gustav Mahler referred to Brückner as his forerunner.
  • Brückner’s meeting with the works of Wagner made him break away from rules and theory to develop his own distinctive form. Wagner’s daring harmonies also became central to Brückner’s compositions, through his use of complex harmony in a contrast to what is known as functional harmony. The harmony is totally different from the classicists’ style, which accounts for his being called «new German», like Liszt, Berlioz and Wagner.
  • In spite of this, he composed absolute music, just as the classicists did. His music can feel massive. He made use of a large orchestra, larger than what was normal in the 1800s. The music is full of contrasting themes and fluctuations. His first symphony was completed in 1856, four new symphonies followed between 1871 and 1876. Brückner’s symphonies have a monumental character. With a romantic musical aspect they appear mysterious with an underlying religious quality.
  • In all, Anton Brückner composed nine symphonies. He died while working on the last one.
Buy ticket
Logo Miljøfyrtårn